SUNDAY, APRIL 3, 2011

I have recently received several inspiring emails from people who appreciate the work I an attempting by integrating education and mental health systems.  Although in one email it was asked, Why would you put so much of your personal business out there for others to judge?  For whatever reason that question has been on my mind for several days…Since, I have come across a quote that says…”If people don’t see your failure, they will never appreciate your success.”  I live my life believing “No weapon formed against me shall prosper” I have a profound testimony in that when you can make it with little to nothing, you made it!  I’m not rich and I’m not poor, but I am incredibly happy representing my truth and shame on those who would attempt to disrespect it or me. And, believe me, I have been disrespected in my face and behind my back.  But there is also something to be said about “you shall reap what you sew.”  I am no Holy Roller, but I will certainly allow the Lord to fight man’s battle with himself.

I feel as though I am no different than the homeless man on the street with the exception I have a resilient fight in me that will never die. Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance and Uplift are a few of my basic strengths.  I have a supportive family that doesn’t judge me and have supported me even when they didn’t understand the work (or calling) I am pursuing. They have made sacrifices for kids they have never and will never meet. I am blessed to be Bruce M. Wheatley. Son of a Saint in Mary Ann Wheatley.

I also believe such thinking is why many of our young and old people are stagnant in life.  So concerned with what others think, they will not vent or explore the best in them. Its similar to the criticism given to men who are seen crying.  Kiss my azz…I cry whenever I’m moved emotionally!  ALL 6’9″ 265lb, drop step will dunk on yo azz at 40 plus right now…shut up!  You got all these young men particularly, young Black and Hispanic men walking around with their fist balled up scared to be vulnerable for fear of being called out there name.  Would you rather have a young many cry to you or rob your azz?

That’s why I do what I do with conviction and I have no shame with it.  I’m human. Us men must stop pretending we’re so daum strong we can’t shed a tear.  Being strong and emotionless is why our women have lost faith in seeking an practical man…Shut up!

I have tears of frustration, tears of joy, tears of pride, tears of strength and tears of both happiness and sadness. So what!?  The jails are full of black and brown men who were too daum scared to cry. Guess what, I bet they’ve shed a tear or two behind bars…too late now.  We must become a proactive society because we are too far behind… Particularly Black people! We have spiraled downward economically, socially, and emotionally since the death of Dr. Martin Luther King…shut up!  We’re at the bottom and If I said this once, you’ll hear it over and over and over again… If you’re black and you think because you got a little something in your checking account then shame on you, you are part of the problem.  Talk about crabs in a barrel.  We need to start pulling each other up instead of holding each other down!

Here’s the thing..stop thinking about yourself and begin to focus on the next generation of Gods children who are looking for some insight because we are already screwed up and they know it.  Yes, me too but I’ve already started to do something about it.  And if it takes the rest of our life time, this is the unselfish commitment we must make to our kids kids.  And if you don’t have any kids you need to be the first in line. My God, I think I’ve digressed from my initial question.

Let me say this before I get close.  Men both younger and older than me, have come to me over the years and said…I want to be like you when I grow up. Always flattered but curious as to why one would say such a thing because, one step inside these size 16’s and you’ll change your mind. Its not cute, its not comfortable, its hard work being me.  What you simply see is a man of high moral character with fortitude and unwavering faith.  What I believe these men meant….is that they want the Spirit of GOD thats in me.  They don’t want to be like me once they realize, “the one who is in you is greater that the one who is in the world” then you will be The Man you see.

I doubt I will blog next Sunday evening as I will be returning from a leadership retreat. This may give me time to figure out were we go from here. Good night.

